Reflection Post

How you have approached learning new things and/or finding new information during the semester?

At the beginning of the semester, I was trying to learn using Unity to create a game by my own. I do all the game coding, designing and modelling by myself. It seems work at the first minigame, but not at the second minigame. Second minigame requires knowledge about animation, which I have never learnt before. It took me a lot of time to learn applying animation, and that made my game quality worse than the first one, which I could only made a tutorial level of the game. Thus, I changed my mind at the last minigame cycle. I started to make a game with my group mates, that Nick was mainly focus on the modelling, Thomas was mainly focus on the designing and I was mainly focus on the coding. This gave us an opportunity to learn from each other and the best mini game has been created.

What additional, non-technical skills you’ve developed during the semester?

During the semester, I learnt the process of developing a game with others. I learnt how to introduce my idea to my group mates. As people always thinks that their idea was the best, I have also learnt to analyse others’ ideas for discussion. Moreover, I learnt to reflect on my own performance and make the reflection to be my experience for future game development.

The most effective strategies you used for managing individual and team activities?

Usually, I will start to do my works after the day of our meeting. I will spend the time to think of what and how to do my missions, and spend my whole next day to finish my works. This gives me almost a week to gain feedback from my teammates and make changes before the next meeting.

The ethical responsibilities associated with working in a team-based environment. Areas to consider could include: justice (fair work practices); responsibility (specifying tasks, completing activities); honesty (avoiding deception); and reasonableness (level of participation, reaching consensus).

I believe I pay a lot of ethical responsibilities associated with working in a team-based environment. I know I did have not enough working on the paper working due to my language level, but I still pay my responsibility to get the works done on time. My team gives me a lot of supports of finishing the tasks and activities. I pay my honesty on the time of finishing the tasks and sharing the parts of prototype, so that my team can keep working on the following tasks and parts and make sure everything can be done before the due day.

Leave a Reply

