Reflection Post

How you have approached learning new things and/or finding new information during the semester?

During this semester I have approached learning new things and finding new information with a positive attitude, and when learning new information, I have always asked other for help. For instance, when it came to creating my prototypes, I was quite new and inexperienced with unity, so to help me learn, I always watched the tutorial videos, asked the tutor for help constantly and also always looked up online tutorials for help. Also in minigame 3, I asked my fellow members in my team for help as we created the game together, one helped on the coding side, whilst the other helped with the animations. Through not knowing what to do with unity, and having to take it slow when learning it, I have learnt that I don’t know everything, but when I ask for help I can learn new skills fairly quickly. This further has taught me that if you don’t know something, others are always willing to help you learn. Through looking at my past experiences in game design in Game Maker, I have noticed many similarities with Unity in the way to create games between the two, despite them being completely different engines. For instance, I had learnt a bit before about collisions and using movement based off axis through using Game Maker in the past, something that then helped me learn Unity better. Through learning Unity, I have gained a better value on asking people for help, as before I rarely asked others for help when creating games for fear of rejection or just because I thought I could figure it out on my own. Now through this unit I have learnt that if you ask others for help they are very willing to do so. Furthermore, like I said, my attitude to asking for help has changed as now I am more willing to ask people for help, rather than trying to figure out things on my own.

What additional, non-technical skills you’ve developed during the semester?

The main additional skill I have developed during this semester is working in teams. Prior to this semester I hated working in teams, as I was quite controlling with working in my own projects. However, now I am more willing to work in teams and willing for all members to contribute equally to the project. This is evident in minigame 3, where all members of our group decided to work in a team on the prototype, and we all split the workload into three equal parts based off our skill sets, whilst also teaching the other members about things we were skilled in, in Unity. This experience has made me appreciate working in a team more, as if I were to be doing all these activities individual I wouldn’t have completed the workload due to all the other work I had on. Furthermore, I found that through working in a team we were able to make our game a lot better than we would as individuals. This is evident when I look at my prototype for my first two games, compared to my third. My first two prototypes were not very good and let down my marks for the first two minigames. However, looking at what we manage to do in a team for the third minigame, I can see it looks a lot better than the first two. Looking at my past experiences in a team I have noticed that I have been controlling whilst in a group, and been trying to force everyone to do the work my way. However, through developing my skills this semester, I have been able to take a step back and allow everyone in the group to contribute ideas equally. Through developing my skills in team situations, I have gained a more positive attitude to team working. Prior to this unit I didn’t like working in teams and would rather work as an individual. After developing my team skills, however, I now believe working in a team can better the assessment process.

The most effective strategies you used for managing individual and team activities

The most effective strategies we used during the three minigame subjects to better manage individual & team strategies were using Drive to share our work, uploading each week work lesson to the wordpress site, constantly email each other on what we should do each week, and meeting up the Saturday before each minigame was due to proof read and finalise our work. Using these strategies I was better able to understand and appreciate how keeping constant contact in a group betters your individual and group work. For instance, through constant emailing and meeting up on that Saturday, we were able to fix any issues we had with our game, and make each other’s blog posts consistent and link up. Through using Drive after starting Uni, I have found it to be a very useful tool in managing individual and team activities due to the ability to share work easily, and edit work on the fly, such as whilst on public transport. Furthermore, in the past I have been lazy and haven’t edited my work before submitting it. Through meeting up on a Saturday, we have all proofread and help fixed each other’s work to make sure we are submitting the best assignment possible. Prior to utilising drive and a Saturday meet up to edit and proofread work, my attitude was to just submit the work without editing. This probably has cost me marks in the past. However, after this unit, I now am an avid preacher of proofreading and editing work before submission, as it has gained me decent marks in this unit.

The ethical responsibilities associated with working in a team-based environment. Areas to consider could include: justice (fair work practices); responsibility (specifying tasks, completing activities); honesty (avoiding deception); and reasonableness (level of participation, reaching consensus).

Through this unit I believe I have utilised many ethical responsibilities associated with working in a team. Firstly I believe I had a duty to my teammates to be responsible with my work, and complete the activities in a quick manner, for them to work based on when there activity weeks were due. Secondly, I believe I also needed to be honest about my ability to complete certain tasks on time, whilst emailing my team mates, and to be honest on what days I could meet up to work on the prototype. Finally, I believe I had a responsibility to take on a reasonable amount of participation and workload when working on the prototype in minigame 3, and not dump all the work on to everyone else. Through acting in those three ethical manners, I was better equipped to understand what level of effort was require for myself during the assessment. This further taught me, that if I were to put in a lot of effort into this assignment, my team mates would to giving us a shared ethical responsibility to deliver the best assignment possible. Through working in groups before, and working with people who have slacked off and weren’t ethically responsible with the effort they put into the assignment, I had a goal to myself and my group to put in a high level of effort into this semesters work. I believe that I have put in a high level of effort, but, I have also learnt to put in more effort in the future, to better my next group. Through this unit I have developed a value on people being ethically responsible whilst working. Through my team mates being responsible in getting there work done on time, being honest on what time they can make meetups and responsibly taking on a fair amount of workload, I have developed these three aspects into my values for working in a group in the future.

Leave a Reply

