Reflection Post – Minigame 2

What did you learn about professional development by going through the design process?

By going through the design process, I learnt to apply simple animations to the game objects. By setting the animations, I could apply some basic functions towards my game prototype, such as opening doors and changing weapons. These types of animation could help me to make my game more realistic. But, my knowledge is not enough to apply any reactions towards the non-player characters (NPC). For example, I have no idea how to make an Ai enemy that could shoot back our players or dodge the players’ shooting. Also, I have learnt to apply sound effects, but I have no idea how to make up a sound root by myself. These are some knowledge I expect to learn in the future.

 

What did you learn about the other majors in the degree by working in mixed teams?

By working in mixed teams, we can share our personal experience from other majors in the degree. For example, Nick is doing Animation major and I am doing Software Technologies major. So, he can help me about making animation in my game and I can help him about writing codes. By sharing my personal experience, I could also have a revision to my knowledge. Sometimes, it could also inspire me some kinds of ideas, likes Thomas has inspire me not to use animation but a status text to represent the Ai reaction in my game.

 

What did you implement in your own individual work that you found the most satisfying?

The most satisfying thing I found while implementing my own individual work should be investigating the codes for my game prototype. During writing the codes, there was a lot of bugs. I have tried many ways to implement my coding while debugging. Sometimes, there would be some unexpected outcomes which are funny and give me some inspiration. Those provide me a lot of experience and these experiences help me to finish coding for the follow parts faster and faster.

 

Do you think that there are any ethical issues attached to designing a First Person Experience inspired by recent events?

To design a first person shooting experience, there are many ethical issues that need to be considered. Our game idea is to tell our player to kill only when it is necessary. However, it is very hard to tell our players what the necessary situation is in the game. Also, there should be different response of shoot different part of a body, likes body shot and head shot should deal different damage. However, I have tried many methods, but I cannot separate the damage determination of body and head. I can only set up a rule of enemy surrendering to tell players not to kill them.

Leave a Reply

